How to get a marriage license in Ohio
Planning to get married in Ohio? Whether you're going for a chic city soirée or a relaxed rural affair, a marriage license is key. So where do you start? We asked Ohio wedding photographer and Fine Art Curation member Marissa Belle to share how to get a marriage license in Ohio.
1. The probate court issues marriage licenses in Ohio
The probate court in each of Ohio’s 88 counties is the only agency authorized to issue a marriage license. To apply for a marriage license, you must go to the probate court of the county in which one of you lives. There is no waiting period in Ohio, meaning you can get married the same day the license is issued, if you wish.
2. You'll need photo ID to apply for an Ohio marriage license
Both of you must appear at the probate court in person and state under oath the following: name, age, residence, place of birth, occupation, Social Security number, father's name and mother’s maiden name, if known, and the name of the person expected to carry out the marriage ceremony.
The probate court may ask each of you for a birth certificate showing your age or proof of other pertinent facts, as well as a photo ID. Marriage licenses cost between between $40 and $75 (depending on the county) and are valid for 60 days. If your marriage is not performed within that time, you'll need to apply for a new license.
3. You'll need to supply any divorce documentation
If one or both of you has been married before, you must include in your application the names of the parties to that marriage and the names of any minor children. If either one of you has been divorced, you must provide the places, dates and case numbers of the divorces. Also, you must present a certified copy of the most recent divorce decree at the time you apply.
4. Same-set couples may marry in Ohio
Since June 26, 2015, same-sex couples may marry in Ohio. The state also recognizes marriages of same-sex couples carried out in other states. Same-sex married couples have all the rights and responsibilities of every other married couple. For instance, they may inherit from each other, and are recognized for tax purposes.
5. Who can officiate wedding in Ohio?
To officially seal the deal, your wedding will need to be officiated by a licensed or ordained minister of any religious society or congregation, a county or municipal judge, mayor, or the superintendent of the State School for the Deaf. Marriage by proxy isn’t permitted in Ohio so both parties will have to be present for the ceremony.
6. You may need a permit to marry in a state park
Finally, in addition to your marriage license, you may need to get a permit to have your ceremony or reception in one of Ohio’s beautiful state parks such as Cedar Falls at Hocking Hills State Park. Call or write to the park office well ahead of time to ensure your desired date is available.
Photography: Marissa Belle Photography | Planning: Blush and Bloom Weddings | Florist: Sherwood Florist | Rentals: Prime Time Party and Event Rental | Cake: Cakes by Jerri Deeter | HMUA: Pretty as a Peach Make-up | Gowns: Bhldn | Alterations: Alterations by Caroline | Live painter: The Campbell Creative | Caterer: Bella Sorella Pizza